Model assessment · Pioneer Pet

Pioneer Pet Big Max Ceramic Fountain #3005 Black review

A black 128 oz ceramic Big Max fountain with maker-described continuous filtered water, a 12 V pump arrangement and a broad drinking bowl.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

The exact manufacturer page currently marks the fountain out of stock for direct purchase and directs buyers to retailers. External stock, seller condition and package contents were not confirmed; use the exact #3005 Black search phrase and verify the included pump and code.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Pioneer Pet Big Max Ceramic Fountain #3005 Black with the raised central pump outlet and wide bowl.
Exact black #3005 maker image. Pioneer Pet does not disclose whether it is photographed or digitally rendered. Pioneer Pet or its image provider
A useful fit for

A household wanting a large, ceramic, one-gallon-class drinking bowl, with a suitable indoor outlet and room for the listed 13.5-inch-square footprint.

The main tradeoff

The 7 lb ceramic body occupies a large space, needs repeated water checks and cleaning, and is not documented as cordless, sensor-driven or automatically protected from dry running.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would black Big Max #3005 meet a ceramic, dishwasher-permitted, continuous outlet-fountain need with at least 3.5 L nominal capacity?

Yes. The exact black #3005 page describes ceramic, dishwasher-safe fountain pieces, continuous filtered water and 128 oz (about 3.79 L) with the #3026A 12 V pump arrangement. Electrical parts are excluded from the dishwasher claim.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I require at least 4 L from the black Big Max ceramic?

No. Its exact model page says 128 U.S. fluid ounces, about 3.79 L; the maker’s nominal figure is below a strict 4 L minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can this model run on a rechargeable battery without an outlet?

No battery setup is documented. The exact Big Max manual shows a cord-and-transformer fountain, indoor-only use and a warning not to run dry.

Explore this need in the finder →
Will the black #3005 fit a hard six-inch height limit?

No. The exact black #3005 page lists the third dimension as 7 inches; allow extra space for removal and cleaning.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I rely on this fountain to shut off automatically or retain a separate drinkable pool if power is lost?

The manual warns not to run dry but does not establish an automatic cut-off or outage reserve. Unknown safety behavior cannot satisfy either essential condition.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Pioneer Pet Big Max #3005 is the black ceramic, 128-ounce member of the maker’s Big Max fountain line. The exact model page identifies a ceramic fountain with continuous filtered flow, a 12-volt replacement pump, and a large 128-ounce nominal capacity. That is one U.S. gallon, about 3.79 liters—not a four-liter fill and not a promise of several days between checks. The #3005 makes most sense when a broad shared drinking area and gallon-class reservoir matter more than a compact footprint or cordless convenience.

A gallon-class bowl needs a real place to live

The black #3005 product page lists a 13.5 by 13.5 by 7-inch body and a 7-pound empty weight. Measure the full footprint before choosing it, and leave room to lift the top bowl and reach the cord and pump housing when cleaning. Ceramic is substantial even before water is added, so this is not the easiest pick to shift around when filled. The manufacturer describes an extra-large drinking area; the tall central pump housing and open bowl are also visible in the exact maker image. I would not convert the 128-ounce label into a refill timetable: actual water use varies with the household, and the source does not specify a usable fill line as a daily-care interval.

Model identity matters within this family. This assessment is for the black Big Max Ceramic #3005, not the similarly sized stainless-steel Big Max #3009 and not the smaller ceramic Raindrop. Pioneer Pet also catalogs a white Big Max ceramic item separately, so check the exact model code and finish rather than treating any listing that says “Big Max” as interchangeable. The dimensions quoted here are the exact black #3005 page’s dimensions.

Continuous power, not a smart or battery routine

The maker’s #3005 instructions are for indoor use and warn not to run the fountain dry. They show the pump and transformer connected to an outlet, with the fountain filled before power is connected. A physical pump-flow lever is shown in the assembly directions; it is not a timer, approach sensor, low-water alarm or app setting. The manufacturer describes continuous circulation, and no rechargeable operating setup is documented for this model. If you need the fountain to move between rooms without an outlet, or require automatic dry-run protection, this evidence does not qualify the #3005.

Its gallon rating is useful as a capacity comparison, but it does not establish intake tracking, water-temperature control, a retained drinking pool during an outage, or automatic shutdown. The manual’s warning to avoid dry operation is a care instruction, not proof of a protective cut-off. Those are meaningful limits for a household that treats a particular alert or fallback as essential.

Filters, bowls and pump care are part of the choice

Pioneer Pet recommends cleaning the fountain weekly, replacing the filter every two to four weeks, and disassembling the pump monthly. The six-page scanned manual shows rinsing a new filter under cool water before installing it, unplugging by holding the plug rather than pulling the cord, washing the fountain parts with mild soap and drying the pieces, then taking the pump apart to clean the impeller. The manufacturer’s product page calls the fountain easy to clean and dishwasher safe; keep that statement to the fountain’s non-electrical pieces. The pump, transformer and cord are not dishwasher parts, and the manual’s hand-cleaning sequence remains the practical guide for taking them out safely.

For replacement parts, the exact model page names ceramic/stainless filter options #3002 and #3014 and replacement pump #3026A (12 V). Do not substitute the rectangular plastic-fountain #3003 filter simply because it is another Pioneer Pet product. Confirm the model code and filter shape when buying replacements, particularly for an older or second-hand unit. The maker listing currently says the fountain is out of stock direct and directs buyers to retailers; seller availability, used condition and box contents were not verified here.

Who should compare another Big Max?

Choose the #3005 when ceramic and a large nominal reservoir are the priorities and the household can support a plugged-in pump, recurring filter changes and a roomy cleaning routine. If you want the same listed 128-ounce capacity with a stainless-steel drinking bowl, compare the maker’s #3009 instead; its surface material is the decisive difference in the official model descriptions. If a gallon class is more than you need and counter space matters, the 60-ounce ceramic Raindrop #6022 or white #6022W is the smaller ceramic alternative. If you want plastic rather than ceramic at a similar compact 60-ounce scale, the separate Fung Shui #3004 is another model to compare—not a substitute for this review’s exact black Big Max.

Use “Pioneer Pet Big Max Ceramic #3005 Black 128 oz” as the retail search phrase and verify that exact code, finish, capacity and pump components before purchase. No exact marketplace listing or price is represented here. A seller’s use of “Big Max” alone is not enough to establish that it is the black ceramic #3005 reviewed on this page.

Key details at a glance

Reservoir and capacity limitsPioneer Pet lists 128 U.S. fluid ounces, nominally one U.S. gallon (about 3.79 L). This is not measured usable fill or a refill interval.
Power arrangementThe exact Big Max Ceramic manual says indoor use only, warns not to run dry, and shows filling the fountain before connecting its cord/transformer to an outlet. No rechargeable plan is documented.
Water flow and conditionsThe exact listing describes continuous filtered water. The manual shows a physical pump-flow lever during assembly; no timed, pet-sensor, app or battery flow mode is documented.
Drinking surface and wet partsExact black #3005 is listed as the ceramic Big Max. This identifies the drinking fountain material, not every internal filter or electrical component.
Cleaning and source limitationsThe maker product page recommends a weekly fountain clean, filter replacement every 2–4 weeks and monthly pump disassembly. The exact scanned manual describes mild-soap cleaning, drying and pump/impeller care. Product-page dishwasher language is limited to non-electrical fountain pieces; remove the pump, transformer and cord.
App and observation limitsNo exact #3005 source reviewed documents intake records, Wi-Fi, app controls, automatic low-water shutdown, outage reserve or a rechargeable operating plan. Unknown requested features fail an essential match.
Confirmed body height7 in

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Find the configuration your household needs.

Start with power and water flow, then add surface, cleaning and observation requirements.